Holiday Light: Singing Angels, Silver Bells

Roma Downey, Guest Narrator
Sung by the Western Wind with Guest Instrumentalists

As heard on public radio, this is a wonderful collection of Christmas music from the Middle Ages and Renaissance to the present woven together with reflections on holiday themes.

Marvel as the renowned vocal sextet takes you on a joyous and profound musical journey with Roma Downey as our guiding “angel.” Click here to learn more about Roma Downey. This double CD set contains a radio version with narration and an all-music CD with a bonus track.

The Western Wind:
Kristina Boerger and Gayla Morgan, sopranos; William Zukof, countertenor; Todd Frizzell and Richard Slade, tenor; Elliot Z. Levine, baritone
Narration written by Rev. K Karpen
Guest artists: Patricia Davis, violin; Robert Eisenstein, viol, vielle and fiddle; Grant Herreid, lute

Track List:

1. Angelus ad virginem – Anonymous 13th-Century Chant, arr. The Western Wind
2. Angels We Have Heard on High – French carol, arr. Gayla Morgan
3. Mi Fé, Vengo de Belén – Francisco Guerrero (1523–1599)
4. Quem Vidistis Pastores, Part I. – Tomás Luis De Victoria (1549–1611)
5. Bethlehem – William Billings (1746–1800)
6. Mary Heard the Angel’s Voice – Elliot Z. Levine (B. 1948)
7. Of a Rose – Robert Dennis (B. 1933)
8. The Cherry Tree Carol – traditional, arr. The Western Wind
9. Lute-Book Lullaby – 16th Century, arr. Thomas Hamond
10. There Is a Flower – John Rutter (B. 1945)
11. Xicochi Conetzintle – Gaspar Fernandes (Ca. 1570–1629)
12. Sweet Little Jesus Boy – Robert Hunter Macgimsey (1898–1979), arr. Michael Sahl
13. I Saw Three Ships – Cornwall Carol, arr. Levine
14. The Darkest Night – Elliot Z. Levine
15. If Anybody Ask You – traditional spiritual, arr. Elliot Z. Levine
16. Somerset Wassail – traditional, arr. Elliot Z. Levine
17. Silver Bells – Jay Livingston & Ray Evans, arr. Gayla D. Morgan
18. Christmas Time Is Here – Vince Guaraldi, arr. Gayla D. Morgan

Price: $14.95